Growing Your Proactive Muscles– the following poem is a great summary of what it means to take responsibility for one’s life and how a person can gradually move from a reactive to a proactive way of thinking.

Five Short Chapters

1

I walk down the street,

there is a deep hole in the sidewalk.

I fall in

I am lost….. I am helpless.

It isn’t my fault.

It takes forever to find a way out.

2

I walk down the same street,

There is a deep hole in the sidewalk.

I pretend I don’t see it.

I fall in again.

I can’t believe I am in the same place

But it isn’t my fault

It still takes a long time to get out.

3

I walk down the same street.

There is a deep hole in the sidewalk

I see it is there

I still fall in, it’s habit

My eyes are open

I know where I am

It’s my fault. I get out immediately.

4

I walk down the same street.

There is a deep hole in the sidewalk.

I walk around it.

5

I walk down another street.

You are the only person responsible for your actions!!! Let’s be Pro-active in our decision-making not Reactive!!!!!

